SWUR (1) Goal Post–UPDATED

 

 

 

 

Read-a-thon Signups

Update: 8/12/2012

I shouldn’t be surprised, but this week I read a whole lot of…wait for it…NOTHING.šŸ˜¦

There are some pretty good reasons:

  1. a personal issue pushed me to be busy for busy’s sake, so I went in to my classroom every day this week to get it ready for the new school year. And it looks–AMAZING! I will be posting pictures soon!
  2. I have decided to allow MiniQ to take her 8th grade year classes online. We moved here in Dec and she had a hard time fitting in (small town, midwest, USA, where everyone has known everyone else since birth). She will be taking choir at the middle school, after her choir teacher called and BEGGED me to let it happen. She’s excited, as am I, but it requires SO MUCH prep work here on my end, because she will be taking the traditional classes online, but I will be requiring a bit more of her–as one of the reasons she wanted to take online courses was because she spends so much time sitting there doing nothing in school because learning is “easier” for her than some of her classmates. So while the teachers re-teach and catch up the others, she is bored.
  3. My part-time job (teaching online) will be gearing up in the near future and I have been organizing for this as well.

I go back to my full time teaching job Monday. Lesson plans are ready, meetings for a week, then bring on the students! So my reading life is about to stall again. At least for a few weeks, while I get into the swing of work again and learning how to navigate MiniQ’s schedule and daily life.

So, this will be my 2nd summer challenge. I didn't meet my goal on the first one, but it did push me forward in my overall summer reading. This one will be better, because it is a longer challenge and I report back to school on the 13th. The timing is perfect!

My to read books for the SWUR :

12 Angry Men

I just bought the play of this and plan to read it to see if it will work in my English 11 course!

Ā 
And I need to find a novel in verse to help with my progress on the Verse Challenge.

4 responses

  1. Good luck with reading!šŸ™‚

  2. I often don’t meet my goals on these challenges but it’s just great incentive to increase your reading! I’ve always wanted to read something by Stephen King but haven’t yet.
    Thanks so much for joining us and good luck!

  3. Hope you get to reach your goals on this one! Thank you for joining us, Happy ReadingšŸ™‚

  4. […] SWUR Goals & Update — my second reading challenge, which I didn’t meet my goals. *sigh* […]

If you comment, I shall respond!

