TQ Review: I Am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells

Review: I Am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells

Title: I Am Not a Serial Killer John Cleaver #1
Author: Dan Wells
Publisher: Macmillan
Publication Date: 2010

GoodReads Synopsis

This was one I could have stopped reading and I wouldn’t have cared how the story turned out. I only finished it because it was such a quick read.

I picked it up at the local library because I was intrigued by the title. As I read the synopsis and the first few pages, I couldn’t help but wonder if this was a Dexter-ish take for the young adult group. I don’t know how I missed the supernatural take that comes in this story, which is what really turned me off from the book. As soon as I realized John was up against a supernatural demon, as it is referred to in the book, I kind of stopped caring how the story would turn out. I no longer cared if anyone lived or died. I no longer cared if John had friends or would get with the girl. I no longer cared that he lived in a funeral home. It just all fell apart when the monster turned out to be a supernatural monst

It’s not that I don’t like the supernatural. I bit my reading teeth on Stephen King for crying out loud! But, I was really interested in a real story about a real boy who might understand his sociopathic behavior and works hard to contain it in the real world. My guess is a teenage serial killer who kills only the bad guys, a la Dexter, may not have sold very well to publishers and parents. I think it would have made it a better story.

My Rating

2 stars!

My Recommendations

  • Not sure who I would recommend this one to…

2 responses

  1. […] Secret Windows by Stephen King * How to Write a Sentence: and how to read one by Stanley Fish On Writing by Stephen King * Unholy Night by Seth Grahame-Smith The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland Through a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne Valente Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern * I Am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells […]

If you comment, I shall respond!

