July 2012 In Review

Books Read:

Secret Windows by Stephen King🙂 *
How to Write a Sentence: and how to read one by Stanley Fish🙂
On Writing by Stephen King🙂 *
Unholy Night by Seth Grahame-Smith🙂
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland Through a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne Valente 😦
Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay😐
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern😀 *
I Am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells 😐

*Reviews coming soon!

Posts Written:

Reviews to some of the books read above, plus:

Sunday Salon July 4th

Sunday Salon

Happenings:

Participated in the Once Upon a Reading Challenge–didn’t meet my goal, but it was a good experience. I think I learned some reading challenges may not be for me, especially the short focused ones.

I am currently working on the Verse Challenge. And read the following novel in verse in July : Love and Leftovers

I am also currently working on the 14 Books, 4 Months, 1 Challenge:

July 1: 20 points, July 31: 60 points

I am a bit worried I may not make this challenge😦. But, I am not giving up yet!

Intriguing Search Terms Pointing to My Blog:

“push knife in back quote john grisham book”

I must admit, I went and used this search term myself, to see if it would pull anything up. I couldn’t find a quote, but I remember the book and know it probably had something to do with Cowboy…

“batman buckets”

I❤ using sayings like “Holy Buckets Batman” when I am speaking or writing. I use them in my classroom quite frequently and my students are constantly giving me new ideas.

“summary of chapter 1 in nevermore by william hjortsberg”

Sadly, one of the books I have read I wished I hadn’t. The novels premise was promising–Houdini, Poe, magic, psi abilities, and murder. Unfortunately, it did not deliver a great read for me.

What I Learned this month:

Just keep moving ahead. There is no outline for tomorrow, there is no forged path. Every day is a chance to move forward or backward and I have chosen it’s all forward from here.

As for blogging, the school year seemed to keep me more on track, however, I am reading far more in summer!

If you comment, I shall respond!

