Top Ten Tuesday (15) – All Things Fairy Tales!

This week is a FREEBIE topic. Yay! Because of a recent trip to the library and one to the movies, I have decided to do a TTT post on retellings/fractured fairy tales.

Don’t forget to participate in the Top Ten Tuesday post from The Broke and the Bookish. They always have such great post ideas.

Photo Credit: Camaryn

Having read such retellings as Ella Enchanted and Wicked, I am always on the lookout for new fairy tales and retellings. The books below are my top ten to be read.

1. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire

The story of Wicked drew me into reading adult fairy tales/retellings like no other. I fell in love with Elphaba and felt shame at the way she had been treated. Of course I want to read the story of Cinderella’s misunderstood stepsister!

2. The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

Wonderland Exists!
Alyss Heart, heir to the Wonderland throne, was forced to flee through the Pool of Tears after a bloody palace coup staged by the murderous Redd.

I am all about Alice–and who wouldn’t want to read this one! It is a series and I plan on getting the first one on my next visit to the library.

3. The Fairy Godmother (Five Hundred Kingdoms #1) by Mercedes Lackey

My foray into the world of science fiction/fantasy reading is recent and spurred on by a friend. I received many recommendations and Mercedes Lackey was one of the most frequent recommendations for fantasy and her Five Hundred Kingdom series sounds like just the ticket.

4. The Storyteller’s Daughter: A Retelling of The Arabian Nights by Cameron Dokey

I saw Winter’s Child: A Retelling of The Snow Queen in Barnes and Noble a few months ago and thought I should check out the series. I picked The Storyteller’s Daughter because I love the story of The Arabian Nights and can’t wait to read a retelling!

5. Impossible by Nancy Werlin

A modern fairy tale using the song Scarborough Fair as a curse. Very interesting indeed!

6. Sweetly: Fairytale Retellings #2 by Jackson Pearce

I haven’t read Sisters Red, which I also want to read, but this one–a Hansel/Gretel retelling sounds too good to put off.

7. Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

This is all over the book blog world right now. I have seen many reviews and can no longer put it off. I saw it at my library and almost grabbed it last week, but a young girl beat me too it. Soon!

8. Into the Wild by Sarah Beth Durst

Julie’s mom, Zel, told stories about the fairy tale creatures “in the wild.” What happens when she discovers them for real? I can’t wait to read this one!

9. Wicked Lovely #1 by Melissa Marr

Faerie intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning 21 st century faery tale.

10. Cloaked by Alex Flinn

A curse. A frognapping. A “hot” princess. And a boy who just wants to repair shoes. Yep, definitely on my to be read list.
I could keep going forever with the list of fairy tales–modern, classic, and retellings. They are one of my favorite reads!

Leave me a comment with:

  1. A recommendation for a book I DON’T have listed,
  2. A link to a review for one of the books I have listed, and/or
  3. Your favorite retellings/modern tales.

8 responses

  1. Hi. You entered to win Scrivener for Mac at http://www.writeforapples.com. I have an extra one if you’re interested! Email me at deanna(at)teachersidea(dot)com or send a message on twitter @writeforapples 🙂

  2. I do like fairy-tale retellings. Have you read Shannon Hale’s “The Goose Girl”? It’s very good. kaye—the road goes ever ever on

    1. Kaye,
      I have not read The Good Girl yet. I will add it to my list!

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I always love getting new recommendations!

  3. […] Beginning this one now. My first impressions, just from the title–I really want to know what the ship of her own making was, what spurred her to travel around fairyland, and to begin with-what is SHE doing in fairyland. I can’t wait! This one is on my TTT list for this week as well–All about Fairy Tales & Retellings! […]

  4. I love fairy tale retellings! Some of my favorites are Cinder by Marissa Meyer (Cinderella as a cyborg), Beastly by Alex Flinn (POV of the Beast), and Slumber by Samantha Young (a fun twist on Sleeping Beauty. I’ll have to add some of the ones you listed to my wishlist. Great list!

    1. Jennifer,

      I have heard so much about Cinder. I can’t wait to read it! Thanks for stopping by and reading.

      Angela

  5. The Looking Glass Wars is one of my favorite series! I love the spin on Alice in Wonderland, and I love that it’s finished. This is actually a book that would make a fantastic movie. I hope you enjoy it too!

    Impossible by Nancy Werlin is such an emotional book, and Wicked Lovely is one of those series that is incredibly addicting.

    My favorite book on this list, though, is Cinder. It’s such an imaginative story, and I love that it doesn’t just rely on the original fairy tale – there’s a bigger story happening in the background. I definitely recommend this.

    Great list! I’m going to have to add all the other books that I haven’t read to my TBR!

    Aimee// My list: Top Ten Ships That Broke My Heart (just a little)

    1. Aimee,

      I can’t wait to read the Looking Glass Wars series! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Angela

If you comment, I shall respond!

