RC: Once Upon a Read-a-Thon (1)

It’s time for my first short challenge. I signed up for this challenge over at Reading Angel.

I have decided to tackle the following books during this 3 day read-a-thon:

Unholy Night by Seth Grahame-Smith

Currently on page 91 now on page 163 and will be up for awhile : Haven’t read as much as possible today because 1) I had to do work for my part time online teaching job, 2) had an appointment I inadvertently scheduled today, and 3) created this post…

I Am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne Valente

Cane River by Lalita Tademy

I may add one or two more after I hit the library tomorrow.

Check out today’s mini challenges @ Between the Pages & IBBookBlogging.

The IBBookBlogging Mini-Challenge Answers:

Question 1:

What is your favorite cover that has been revealed this summer and why? Post a link or picture of the cover if you want.

I have yet to read Cinder. It was checked out of the library right before I could grab it. But, it’s on my TBR list and when I saw the cover for this one, I knew it would be on my TBR too! They did such a great job with the cover of Cinder and this one is just as good. The simplicity and boldness makes it stand out.

Question 2:

Do you rely on the cover to help you choose whether you want to read a book or not?

I try not to judge books by their covers, but it is the first thing that draws me in if I have never heard of the book and/or author before. Also, a recent trend I have seen and am not fond of–using real models for covers–often turn me off of a book. I don’t like having models on the cover, because it does not allow me to build the character as fully in my own mind. And, sometimes, the models look NOTHING like what the characters should look like.

If you comment, I shall respond!

