Sunday Salon (11) 4th of July Week

Weather today…So, the heat is here and it looks like it will stay for awhile.😦 103 Saturday, but a cool down projected for today (mid-90s) and tomorrow (mid-80s!)! Please, oh please, send me a thunderstorm. Update: Yep, got our thunderstorm last night!🙂

Summer Happenings: Had to drive to Nebraska to bring MiniQ home on the 3rd. We enjoyed watching the fireworks outside on our porch on the 4th!

I am spending quite a bit of time working on lesson plans for fall. I am also working (part time) for K12 online schools.

I’m reading: 

Library Visit:

This week, MiniQ & I went to the library to get some new books. I returned many and checked out four new ones. Why?!? I still have a huge TBR pile of my own. But it always feels wrong to walk into a bookstore or a library and walk out empty handed. AND, I am following King’s advice of “writers read a lot.” Here are this week’s picks:

I’m listening to:  I don’t listen to audio books, usually. When I do, it’s always a book I have read before. I have to see the words myself to make complete sense of a text the first time. So, instead of audiobooks, I will share my iPod shuffled playlist for the week🙂 ! I have been listening to Spotify a bit this week and have had the following running through my playlist:

The Boss (Springsteen, of course!).🙂

Books finished this week:

How to Write a Sentence by Stanley Fish – Linked to my review.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie – Linked to my review.

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King – Review Coming Soon!

Secret Windows by Stephen King – Review Coming Soon!

Love & Leftovers by Sarah Tregay – Review Coming Soon!

Abandoned book: None!

Scripture lesson in church: Our current message series is focusing on Nehemiah and the idea of Reclamation, Restoration, and Renewal. Today’s guiding verse:

They said to me, “Those who survived the exile and are back in the province are in great trouble and disgrace. The wall of Jerusalem is broken down, and its gates have been burned with fire. ”

When I heard these things, I sat down and wept. For some days I mourned and fasted and prayed before the God of heaven. (Nehemiah 1: 3-4)

I’m praying for: Guidance and strength to find God’s path for me. I give myself over to him for his guidance. I am not in control.

Around the house: MiniQ took the office in a closet idea from Pinterest and turned her super large closet into an office space. It freed up SO MUCH room in her bedroom!

From the kitchen: Steaks, baked potatoes, root beer floats, and watermelon.

Fun event of the week: Fireworks!

A favorite quote this week: This is what I posted on Facebook for the 4th of July. Remember!

If you comment, I shall respond!

