Top Ten Tuesday (13) – Characters who are me or I am they…

Love this week’s topic! Don’t forget to participate in the Top Ten Tuesday post from The Broke and the Bookish. They always have such great post ideas.

I have written before, in TTT posts, about my affinity for the first two characters listed here. I strongly identify with both Alice and Dorothy for many reasons. Read on for my attempt at explaining why I see myself in them.

Alice from Alice in Wonderland

Because I am Alice. The curiosity, brought on by boredom. Her trust in following that which seems so unfamiliar, yet something that CAN be made sense out of. I still feel like Alice.

Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz

Again, another “lost soul” trying to figure out where she fits in. And she’s from the midwest! I won’t lie, when I relocated back to the midwest, I was MORE than psyched that it would be to Dorothy’s home state of Kansas!

Scout from To Kill a Mockingbird

Her tenacious spirit. Her regard for justice and all things right. Her being able to read and not understanding how Atticus could have taught her how to read incorrectly, so she points out maybe the teacher doesn’t know everything. *sigh* so me!

Lizzy from Pride and Prejudice

Her distrust of most things, especially the expectations pushed upon her by others. Her then seeming complete flip flop to accepting and even almost worshiping that which she had deemed beneath her or just not for her.

Novalee Nation from Where the Heart Is

Oh, how I wish I could say I wasn’t her. But I was. And am. I trusted someone I shouldn’t have. I grew up way too soon. But I took that pain and took that life to teach me how to be better because of it. I let it open me up to life at large.

Narrator from The Lover’s Dictionary

I have never been able to tell-is the narrator a girl or a guy. And, sadly I have been on both sides of the conflict within those pages. I have been the one to leave someone wondering how their world collapsed and I have been left to pick up the pieces. And both are equally painful.

Professor McGonagall from Harry Potter

Because I am TOTALLY HER! In every way! LOVE HER LOVE HER LOVE HER! Love being her in the classroom, too. Sarcastic, yet caring. Forceful, yet gentle. Stern, yet understanding.

Frances Mayes from Under the Tuscan Sun

Ok, I really don’t see much of myself in her, but she is who I want to be! I want to be able to say goodbye to everything (ok, I have!) and move to a foreign country (I was close to a foreign country!) and find out what life really means (ok, so this happens all the time). Maybe I am her. I just want to be in France😉.

The next two are characters I have read that remind me of my two daughters.

Bella Swan from Twilight  for my oldest daughter

Her tenacity, her quiet, her feelings of responsibility for those surrounding her

Matilda from Matilda for MiniQ (youngest)

Her vivaciousness, her cuteness, her beguiling manner, her determination, her sense of justice

2 responses

  1. Hmmm – I couldn’t do the prompt this week – too hard – but I love how you took on the challenge! Especially when you found characters that reminded you of your daughters.

    1. Tanya,
      Thanks for visiting!
      Every time I am reading something, I am constantly comparing characters to people I know in real life. And I love finding characters that remind me of my girls.
      Angela

If you comment, I shall respond!

