Sunday Salon (10)

Weather today…We, here in Kansas, have had a pleasant spring and summer so far. Last year at this time we had already had numerous 95+ days. This year not so much, but this weekend, which ushers in the beginning of true summer brought the heat!

Summer Happenings: One wee k of summer school remains!

I’m reading: 

  • The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (one of my favorite classics! Just read the chapter on the turtle.)
  • Kate Remembered by A. Scott Berg
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness #1 of The Chaos Walking Series. I honestly don’t know much about this series and don’t remember who recommended it to me. I have all three books on my iPad and they will help me with the Summer Reading Challenge.
  • How to Write a Sentence by Stanley Fish. I cannot wait to finish this one. It is proving to be a quick read, even though I am taking notes from almost every page. I wish I had read this one a long time ago! And, I will buy my own copy!

I’m listening to:  I don’t listen to audio books, usually. When I do, it’s always a book I have read before. I have to see the words myself to make complete sense of a text the first time. So, instead of audiobooks, I will share my iPod shuffled playlist for the week🙂 ! I have been listening to Spotify a bit this week and have had the following running through my playlist:

This week has found me listening to quite a bit of Enya.🙂

Books finished this week:

A Bad Boy Can Be Good for a Girl by Tanya Lee Stone. Look for my review, which will be my first blog post written for the Nerdy Book Club, later this week!

Abandoned book: None!


Scripture lesson in church: Our current message series is focusing on Nehemiah and the idea of Reclamation, Restoration, and Renewal. Today’s guiding verse:

They said to me, “Those who survived the exile and are back in the province are in great trouble and disgrace. The wall of Jerusalem is broken down, and its gates have been burned with fire. ”

When I heard these things, I sat down and wept. For some days I mourned and fasted and prayed before the God of heaven. (Nehemiah 1: 3-4)

I’m praying for: Guidance and strength to find God’s path for me through these new developments.

Around the house: Been working on finding cute, inexpensive decorating idea via Pinterest.

From the kitchen: Beef and Broccoli

Fun event of the week: Walked the River Walk downtown.

A favorite quote this week:

If you comment, I shall respond!

