Top Ten Tuesday (12) – Summer TBR Pile

So, this week’s TTT is a day late, but complete! This one was far too easy because my TBR list for summer is HUGE and I have split my list into categories. Please enjoy!

For School

~these books are on my TBR for summer because I am preparing for teaching these novels in at least one of my classes next fall~

Native Son by Richard Wright

I have not read this one, but have heard of it, as it makes most classic American Lit lists. I will either have my honors kids read this on their own or read it together. It is set in the 1940s and deals with the ever present racism, especially when it comes to matters of criminal behavior.

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

I have read bits and pieces of this one over the years, but never the whole book from start to finish. I used the first chapter of this book for my American War Lit class last spring and was pleasantly surprised by how well my students responded to it. Instead of reading Huck Finn this fall, I will be reading this one. Huck took 8 weeks and is just too much time for one book in a one semester course. I am hoping this one can be done in less time.

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

I have read this. In high school! So, before giving it to my honors kids, I felt I should re-read much more closely than I did when I was in high school. I like the story. Love the movies. But, it is a dense and difficult read, especially for kids used to reading Manga and texts!

Non-Fiction

~I try to read as much non-fiction as I can, to stay in the real world and to find things to use with my students and some are just for fun~

Superfreakonomics by Stephen Dunbar & Steven Levitt

I LOVED Freakonomics when it came out. I devoured it in one sitting. I know there are a lot of critics who claim the “economic” claims within these tomes are NOT true to economic study, but they make so much sense. And it gets you thinking about the big picture of the world and how the smallest details and choices can have such a huge impact. Can’t wait to read this one.

Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Society by Jared Diamond

I have had this one since last fall and have read the first few chapters, I just haven’t had the time to sit down and read it in its entirety. Books like these require cerebral power to be focused. It is one I have wanted to read and now it will make my list, which will hopefully encourage me to finish it!

The Last Call: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition by Daniel Okrent

Much like the previous one, it has been on my pile for awhile and just haven’t been able to finish it. I did get the first three chapters read for my 1920s Lit class, before reading Gatsby. There is a lot of useful information and it is an engaging read. Will finish it this summer!

For Pleasure

~because we all need those books to read JUST for fun~

11/22/63 by Stephen King

Stephen King. JFK. Need I say more?

Pale Demon (#9) & A Perfect Blood (#10-Rachel Morgan Series) by Kim Harrison

I love Rachel Morgan! And Ivy. And Jax. And all the men that come and go. The magic. The fighting. The tortured souls. These are some of my guilty pleasure reads and I can’t wait to get back into it.

The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

I just started reading the first book The Knife of Never Letting Go and I am hooked. I was recommended this one after reading the Hunger Games series. It is more than interesting. Can’t wait to write the reviews!

I realize I cheated and added more than 10 books, but I couldn’t put one Kim Harrison without the other and same with the trilogy. And this is not even a third of my whole summer TBR pile, YIKES! Thanks for reading and make sure you check out The Broke and Bookish’s TTT post.

Leave me a comment about whether you have read any from my list, or
if you have recommendations based on my list!

6 responses

  1. Great list! I’m a fan of nonfiction too (7 of my 10 are nonfiction).

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting. I read quite a bit of nonfiction and usually turn to it when I am feeling unsettled or just out of sorts. Those times when I don’t want to live in someone else’s world for the moment, which is why I usually pick up a fiction book.

  2. I loved the first two from Patrick Ness, and for some reason I’ve gotten Monsters of Men out from the library twice and still haven’t read it. Maybe I’m worried about how it concludes!

    1. Katja,
      I am really enjoying the first book and am reading through it slowly, b/c it’s on my iPad and I usually just get to it when waiting for my summer school students to arrive.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. I just bought all the books in The Chaos Walking trilogy so I hope to get to them soon too. And 11/22/63 – has been on my list for ages! Hope you get to all your summer reads and enjoy them all🙂

    1. Tanya,

      I have so many books on my TBR pile and just got back from Barnes and Noble to add a few more…when will I learn???

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

If you comment, I shall respond!

