Sunday Salon (8) Memorial Day Edition!

Weather today…After spending Friday and Saturday in less than warm South Dakota, I have returned to a sunny, if somewhat humid, Kansas spring.

Summer Happenings: School’s out…let the fun begin! I began summer vacation by traveling to South Dakota to leave MiniQ with the grandparents. I am flying solo this summer, so my reading and blogging time have increased!

I’m reading: 

  • Lawyers in Hell edited by Janet Morris. This one is slow going. I am currently on the story with Che Guevarra and Kurt Kobain. Not sure why this one is going sooooo slow. It is a good read.
  • Kate Remembered by A. Scott Berg
  • Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith. Prepping for the movie release!

I’m listening to:  I don’t listen to audio books, usually. When I do, it’s always a book I have read before. I have to see the words myself to make complete sense of a text the first time. So, instead of audiobooks, I will share my iPod shuffled playlist for the week🙂 !

During the road trip, I realized my nifty Sync enabled car can play Pandora! So, I listened to a bit of the Puppini Sisters radio.

Books finished this week:😦 I haven’t finished any books this week. But, am on the verge!

Abandoned book: I have not let any books go this week🙂
 
Scripture lesson in church: Because I was traveling, I missed church this morning, but spent some time reading in the book of Isaiah and keep this one close:

Isaiah 41:10  “fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you,  I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

I’m praying for: All those who are currently serving, have served, sacrificed themselves for us.

Around the house: Time to really clean and organize the office.

From the kitchen: Brats, salads, the standard Memorial Weekend fare.

Fun event of the week: Trip home to SD.

A favorite quote this week:

If you comment, I shall respond!

