Top Ten Tuesday (8)-And this is what she said…

One of my favorite days of the week is upon us again! Tuesdays remind me the week is already well under way, there is far more to come, and The Broke and Bookish are hosting the weekly Top Ten! This week’s top ten involves the top ten quotations from books. So many to choose from, but here it goes.

1. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

“If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrary wise, what is, it wouldn’t be. And what it wouldn’t be, it would. You see?”

Because that’s exactly how my life is!

2. Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (Ma Joad)

She seemed to know that if she swayed the family shook, and if she ever really deeply wavered or despaired the family would fall, the family will to function would be gone.

I read this behemoth of a novel in high school and remember reading and seeing Ma Joad as a role model. Her steadfastness. Her determination in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds. She was who I wanted to be as a mom. The rock. The one everyone looked to in times of joy and in times of need.

3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

“I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.”

My make believe father was so smart! Really, Atticus shared so many words of wisdom, it was hard to pick just one quote, but this one stuck with me and encouraged my sense of being more than any other. Knowing you will fail or you can’t possibly win, but fighting for it anyways because it’s the right thing to do is a lesson I try to teach to others through example.

4. The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

Trying to write about love is ultimately like trying to have a dictionary represent life. No matter how many words there are, there will never be enough.

I actually loved quite a few quotations from this book. Check out the entry for livid. So true–nail on head!

5. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

Knowing can be a curse on a person’s life. I’d traded in a pack of lies for a pack of truth, and I didn’t know which one was heavier. Which one took the most strength to carry around? It was a ridiculous question, though, because once you know the truth, you can’t ever go back and pick up your suitcase of lies. Heavier or not, the truth is yours now.

How unfortunately true! There are moments in my life I don’t ask questions I don’t want the answers to, because I know once I know the truth there can be no going back. Ever.

6. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

“When will people learn that just because you can make something doesn’t mean you should?”

This small comment comes when Rosemary is talking to the older Mr. Jankowski. His thought refers to digital watches, but it encompasses so much more. It is a question I constantly ask myself and I pose to my students frequently. It’s a fair question to ask others to consider.

7. Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes

Life offers you a thousand chances… all you have to do is take one.

Oh how this book stirred something deep within my soul. I cried for her failed marriage. I yearned for her spontaneity and willingness to do something so unexpected and so terrifyingly new. And, looking back, I am not so different. What Mayes wrote struck a chord so deep within me I moved 2,000 miles away from everything and everyone I knew to make a new life, to start my career, to find myself. And I did!

8. Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

It’s life. You don’t figure it out. You just climb up on the beast and ride.

At this point, I realize I read to figure out life. LOL Or at least gain insight into how life can be lived, or better yet, experienced.

9. Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

Passion is passion. It’s the excitement between the tedious spaces, and it doesn’t matter where it’s directed…It can be coins or sports or politics or horses or music or faith…the saddest people I’ve ever met in life are the ones who don’t care deeply about anything at all.

I have read numerous Sparks books and been entranced by almost every one. But, Dear John speaks so closely to my heart and going back through looking at the numerous quotes I had marked, I realize how many life lessons  are contained within this one novel. The lesson of learning to love, but then giving up the dream and hope you had kept alive for so long for that love is one few people can understand, let alone practice. Painful as it may be, sometimes letting go is the most gracious act of love one can show.

10. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

“Life,” said Marvin dolefully, “loathe it or ignore it, you can’t like it.”

Because you can’t beat Marvin’s word’s of wisdom!

Thanks for reading about some of my favorite quotes. There are SO MANY more I could include and am thinking I may start a weekly meme, or at least a once in a while posting of a quote I stumble across. I mark them. Sometimes I write them down. Often, their meaning is apparent in the moment, but not always long after that first encounter. I can’t wait to see what everyone else has written about theirs! Make sure to head over to The Broke and the Bookish to see their list.

What do you take away from books? Do the words an author writes stir you in ways you never imagined, or are they merely words on paper?

2 responses

  1. What a great collection of quotes! I’m especially partial to everything TKAM – such a great book! I loved it.

If you comment, I shall respond!

