Top Ten Tuesday (7) – Take Me to the Movies!

The Broke and Bookish hosts the weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday and this week’s promises to be a fun jaunt through the land of book and film. This will be a bit hard for me, as most of the books I feel should be made into movies already are or will be soon. I remember, as I was reading John Grisham’s Skipping Christmas, thinking it would make a GREAT movie. And soon after, Christmas with the Kranks came out. So, here is my attempt at finding books/stories that have NOT already been made into film.

1. The Matched series by Ally Condie

Even though the book series will not be complete until late this year, I already know, however it ends, it will make a great movie. It will make a great movie, if the producers and directors take their time and make it right. I am a bit tired of studios rushing to cash in on an amazing book, only to do it a disservice by making it too quickly and not thinking out things like set design, dialogue, and casting. This book, with it’s journey to self discovery and rebellion, could hold audience attention and the (albeit, sadly overdone) love triangle, could play well to audiences.

2. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

This is a book I hope to re-read over the summer. It was one I was instantly engaged in and couldn’t wait to finish. Larson keeps the reader engulfed in the true events surrounding the building of the 1893 Chicago World Fair and H.H. Holmes, the serial killer who used the Fair as a backdrop to lure unsuspecting women and children to their deaths. What more could a movie ask for? Serial killer? Check. Time period piece? Check. Unintended consequences on a grand scale? Check. Murder? Check. I know there is a documentary on H.H. Holmes, but taking this book, which takes two separate, yet intertwined sets of events, and making a movie would put the Chicago’s World Fair as a backdrop to the more sinister happenings in and around it.

3.Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This is one where rumors of it being in-production are afoot, but there are no real confirmations on IMDB as of today, except to say it is in-production. This book is a fun read and includes all things children wonder and fear: “monsters,” kids with “special” powers, and “lost” lands. It would make an intriguing and darkly haunting movie if done well.

4. Any James Rollins book

James Rollins’ SIGMA novels read like an Indiana Jones jaunt, yet far superior in intellect and intrigue. Ever since reading the first page of James Rollins’ SIGMA novels, I have wanted to see it unfold on screen. It may be too big for the silver screen and might do better as a TV show or set of miniseries.

5. Cinderella Skeleton by Robert D. San Souci, Illustrated by David Catrow

Strange to put an illustrated children’s book here. I think not! LOL MiniQ absolutely adored this book when she was younger. I would have to read it before bed, before dinner, before naps, after naps, after dinner, when we woke, you get the picture. She loved the story of Cinderella Skeleton and Prince Charnel and would have loved to see even an animated short made of this story. Catrow’s illustrations would have made a wonderful backdrop.

Ok…I give up…I hate to do this, b/c I am a stickler for “rules” and I hate to NOT have 10 for Top Ten Tuesday, but most of the books I love have already been made into movies…LOL

Thanks for reading about those books I feel could make great movies. I can’t wait to see what everyone else has written about theirs! Make sure to head over to The Broke and the Bookish to see their list.

One response

  1. I’m with you. Matched could be a GREAT movie. I liked the book enough but I think it may be even better as a movie!

    marissa
    http://raegunwear.blogspot.com

If you comment, I shall respond!

