Top Ten Tuesday (6)-Favorite Characters of All Time

One of my favorite days of the week is upon us again! Tuesdays remind me the week is already well under way, there is far more to come, and The Broke and Bookish are hosting the weekly Top Ten! This week’s top ten involves the characters we love the most. So, without further ado…here are my favorite characters, in no particular order.

1. Alice from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass

I have strongly identified with Alice ever since I first read her stories as a young girl. A girl lost in her world, that seems to make sense, but with one turn no longer makes sense, and having to find her way back again. I think we can all identify a bit with Alice.

2. Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz

Dorothy is another lost soul in a real/imaginary world scenario I strongly identify with and of course Judy Garland’s immortalization of her is the image I think of first. Her desire to fit in to a world, which doesn’t seem to want her, and her tenacity at finding a way home when she realizes the grass wasn’t greener on the other side has always been a model for me.

3. Scout from To Kill a Mockingbird

Jean Louise Finch epitomizes what I it means to be a girl in a man’s world. Raised by the best father EVER, Scout learns early on to be tenacious, unapologetic, and inquisitive during a time when children were best “seen, but not heard.” One of my summer reads this summer is The Mockingbird Parables by Matt Litton. This book looks at the themes and characters in TKAM through faith and encourages readers to think about questions like: Do we truly love our neighbors? It was through the reading and study of this book (going back to do a better job of it this summer…lol) that I really began to look at Scout and her influence to herself and those around her and why she should be a role model for any young girl today. Resilient, tenacious, and strength are why I want to be Scout Finch!

4. Atticus from To Kill a Mockingbird

As per my last entry, about Scout, Atticus Finch is the BEST FATHER EVER! His quiet, yet forceful manner. His determination to do right in the face of a society who doesn’t accept it as being right. These characteristics paint the image of a man almost anyone would want to call Daddy. He always knew what to say or, more importantly, when not to say anything at all. His courageousness in the face of a prejudicial and arrogant society shows others why it is important, even in a losing battle, to stand up for one’s convictions.

5. Odysseus from The Odyssey

Come on ladies, isn’t this the man we all dream of? The one who will fight monsters, battle natural phenomenon, and spend 20 years struggling to get back to his Penelope. I mean, really! Not only is it his determination and courage, it is his desire–the burning desire he has to be reunited with the one he loved AND the life he began. And, yes, it does help that Armand Asanti played Odysseus in my favorite film version of the Odyssey. *SIGH*

6. Severus Snape from the Harry Potter series

Ah, the bad boy. Ever since I read the first Harry Potter book, I have been in love with Severus. Even before Alan Rickman played him, even though I also LOVE Alan. And as the series continued, I couldn’t help but continue to feel for him and want so badly for him to get what he wanted–the love of the unattainable girl, the life of a happy family, the sense of belonging we all desire. As a teacher, I also appreciated his sometimes harsh treatment of students, because we have all been there!

7. Stargirl from Stargirl

Ukelele. Pet rat. Singing Happy Birthday to high schoolers on their birthday. Dancing for no reason other than to dance. These are just a few of the things Stargirl does because she just is. She is who she is, makes no apologies for it, and encourages other around her to do the same. I wish we could all be at least a little bit like Stargirl. Uninhibited by the cultural norms that surround us. In tune with who we truly are and sharing it with others. And, non-judgemental enough to let those around us be who they choose to be too.

8. Kay Scarpetta from Patricia Cornwell’s Scarpetta series

Note: Image is of the novelist, NOT the character. However, I have always pictured Scarpetta closely resembling Patricia Cornwell. There have been rumors of a Scarpetta movie project with Angelina Jolie cast as Scarpetta and I am not sure I like that…but that’s just personal preference. So, why do I like her as a character? Kay Scarpetta has always embodied the determined, individual woman who knew what she wanted, how to get it, and how to fix it when it all went wrong. As I have continued to read the series, my desire to emulate Scarpetta as a strong, determined female has only increased. She takes no bull from anyone. She takes pride in her work and encourages those around her to espouse the same beliefs. She lives for herself, but while also caring for and nurturing those around her. Nurturing them whether they want it or not.

9. Eloise from Eloise

Who doesn’t, at some point in life, want to be the precocious, gregarious, and sometimes obnoxious Eloise? I mean, really?🙂

10. Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice

Strong-willed, determined, independent, yet yearning for love. Knowing what she wants, being true to herself first, then going after what she has determined she deserves. I. Want. To. Be. Her!

Thanks for reading about my favorite characters. I can’t wait to see what everyone else has written about theirs! Make sure to head over to The Broke and the Bookish to see their list.

13 responses

  1. You totally get a like for Odysseus alone! I have too many Greek mythology crushes, I could probably write up an entire ‘top ten favorite characters – antiquity edition’.

    1. Maudlin,

      Since first reading The Odyssey, I have been in love with Odysseus! I love Greek and Roman mythology.🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      TeacherQ

  2. Wow, how could I have forgotten Dorothy on my list? I guess I usually think of her as a movie character since I saw the film so much earlier than I ever read the book. Same goes for Lizzie Bennett — I fell in love with her character in the A&E miniseries before I finally read Pride and Prejudice. Good picks!

    1. I actually watched P&P before I read the book, too. I remember a teacher recommending it when I was in high school, but I just couldn’t get into it. Then a few years ago, I saw the Kiera Knightly version and fell in love. I immediately went out and bought the book, read it, and kicked myself for NOT reading it sooner. LOL

      Thanks for reading!

  3. Amen to Snape. He is a fantastic character and I have always loved him. Alan Rickman helps too! Atticus is another favorite. I haven’t read Stargirl yet, but it’s on my list.

    1. I can’t confess my love enough for Snape (or Alan!) and Atticus! Must. Read. Stargirl! It will be worth it!
      Thanks for reading🙂

  4. oooh I totally forgot Kay Scarpetta! LOVE her!! I’m glad you had Snape on your list too! He needs all the love he can get.

    1. I have been a Scarpetta fan for YEARS now…and I keep cringing at the end of each new novel, b/c I know she has to end at some point, but I really, really, really don’t want her to! LOL

      Thanks for reading!

      1. lol, yeah that’s the worst thing about reading a series.

  5. Scout should have been on my list!

  6. I have to pick up Stargirl, it sounds wonderful, and Atticus is just wonderful❤

    1. I had never read Stargirl until I taught it to my 7th graders. Loved it!

  7. Terrific choices. Scout Finch made it onto my Top Ten too.

If you comment, I shall respond!

