National Poetry Month (25) – Yours was the Face

Yours was the face I had etched onto my heart.
Not a skin deep visible tattoo
But, an indelible stain upon my soul.
One meant to stand the test of time.
An enduring legacy of what we built
Shared in lasting memories.

Yours was the face I had etched onto my heart.
An image of strength and protection
Filling my soul with peace.
The safety from which I could
Begin to experience the world outside
With no fear or regret.

Yours was the face I had etched onto my heart.
Little did I know the stain
Would become a painful memory.
Seared into my heart.
Lost in my soul.
Forever.

Yous was the face.

-Angela Quiram 2012

If you comment, I shall respond!

