Sunday Salon (3) A Day Late

From Sunday, but posted Monday…lol

Weather today…Crisp, bright, beautiful. And this is saying a lot, since Saturday night was filled with storms and tornadoes! Thankfully, my little town was spared the brunt of the force and damage. It seems like the tornado rolled right up to our front door, lifted up its skirt, and plopped right back down on the other side of town. Praise God!

In my classes this week: In my 1920s & 30s class we are continuing Of Mice and Men unit and discussed the ideas leading up to the main conflict.

In my War Lit class we began reading Farewell to Manzanar. The kids are still intrigued and discussing!

In both classes I introduced my ideas and plans for National Poetry Month! I have some very excited kids.🙂

I’m reading: Too much! LOL

  • Ruby Holler by Sharon Creech – one of my students LOVES all things Creech and knew I hadn’t read this one, so she let me borrow it. It will be a quick read!
  • Lawyers in Hell edited by Janet Morris. This one is slow going.
  • Nevermore by William Hjortsberg
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Note to self–FINISH at least one of these already!

I’m listening to:  I don’t listen to audio books, usually. When I do, it’s always a book I have read before. I have to see the words myself to make complete sense of a text the first time. So, instead of audiobooks, I will share my iPod playlist for the week🙂 !

This week was an eclectic mix, but I will highlight the Country Music from this week:

Shania Twain’s Up

Deana Carter’s Before We Ever Heard Goodbye

Johnny Cash’sGet Rhythm&Ring of Fire

Brad Paisley’sIf Love Was a Plane

Allison Krauss’ Paper Airplane

and so much more…

Book finished this week: I finished Catching Fire this week. Loved it as much as The Hunger Games. Review coming soon!

Abandoned book: I have not let any books go this week🙂
 
Scripture lesson in church: It is Gospel week @ church and our visiting pastor is preaching on how to read the Bible for ourselves. The Great Commission Matthew 28:19-20 “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

I’m praying for: The student who’s mom was in an accident passed away this weekend. Our school has surrounded him and are keeping him in our prayers.

Around the house: Must spray for bugs! Unpacked more pictures to hang.🙂

From the kitchen: Fresh cut salad and stuffed mushrooms.

Fun event of the week: New conversations

A favorite quote this week: “Don’t look for heroes. Be one!” Tony Robbins

If you comment, I shall respond!

