Sunday Salon (2)

Weather today…A bit different from the expected. Traveled to South Dakota to be with family over the long weekend and after they had had 90 degree days last week, it dropped back down to the low 60s. Still a nice spring day!

In my classes this week: In my 1920s & 30s class we began out Of Mice and Men unit-I began reading the book aloud. Note to self–there are a lot of curse words in this book-be prepared to read aloud without laughing next time!

In my War Lit class we continued reading Farewell to Manzanar. It is generating lots of discussion about real ethical dilemmas.

In both classes : National Poetry Month : I do not have ONE student who is NOT excited about the poetry project this year. Awesome!

I’m reading: Too much! LOL

  • Ruby Holler by Sharon Creech – one of my students LOVES all things Creech and knew I hadn’t read this one, so she let me borrow it. It will be a quick read!
  • Lawyers in Hell edited by Janet Morris. This one is slow going.
  • Nevermore by William Hjortsberg
  • Crossed by Ally Condie

I’m listening to:  I don’t listen to audio books, usually. When I do, it’s always a book I have read before. I have to see the words myself to make complete sense of a text the first time. So, instead of audiobooks, I will share my iPod playlist for the week🙂 !

Album: Afterwords

Artist: Collective Soul

Book finished this week: I didn’t finish any book this week.😦 It’s been a crazy week, plus my traveling puts a damper on reading.

Abandoned book: I have not let any books go this week🙂
 
Scripture lesson in church: For Easter Sunday: Matthew 28:6a “He is not here; he has risen, just as he said.”

I’m praying for: The family. We all get so bogged down in day to day life and don’t stop to remember that each of us is human, with our own needs, weaknesses, and strengths. This week my prayers will focus on my family.

Around the house: I am out of of town this weekend, visiting family for my parents 35th Anniversary and Easter. So, nothing at my house is getting done and that’s ok!

From the kitchen: Grilled burgers, salads, chips, and cheesecake.

Fun event of the week: Let’s just say it involved a fire pit, music, and dancing.

A favorite quote this week: “A poem begins as a lump in the throat, a sense of wrong, a homesickness, a lovesickness.” -Robert Frost

If you comment, I shall respond!

