National Poetry Month (7) – The Scar

The tiny scar above your lip

Is all I remember seeing,

As your painful words fell on me

But, I was no longer hearing.

I could only see

The tiny scar above your lip.

I remember asking where it came from,

But you could no longer recall

The exact incident which created

The tiny scar above your lip.

When I asked if  you remembered the pain

Your look said it all.

As you searched

For that distant memory

I saw in your eyes at once

The pain had been real,

But it was no longer remembered.

This gave me hope as I stared

At the tiny scar above your lip.

It became a symbol for me,

A reminder that the pain,

Currently felt, would one day

Fall away.

The pain and agony would become

A distant memory,

Like the one associated with

The tiny scar above your lip.

-© Angela Quiram and Reading After Bedtime, 2012

One response

If you comment, I shall respond!

