Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read in a Day (3)

It’s time for the weekly Top Ten Tuesday. Thanks to The Broke and the Bookish for hosting the meme. Here are my Top Ten Books I could read in a day…

  1. The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. I read it in less than 2 hours one afternoon. And, oh, how this story tugged at my very soul. See review here:
  2. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. “One sees clearly only with the heart. What is essential is invisible to the eye.” Who can’t want to read such insights in the guise of a children’s book. This is one I frequently re-read.
  3. Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan. An eye opener to the complacent Christian. Are we really loving God by living by a checklist–went to church (check), don’t curse (check), pray (check-most of the time)? This book gives you insight into what it really means to have a personal relationship with God.
  4. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. THE love story of love stories. I can’t help but cry every time I read this one. It holds a special place in my heart.
  5. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Fell in love with this love story immediately. This book sold me with the cover. The circus, an elephant, it was graceful and beautiful. And touching. I can’t not read it in one sitting.
  6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Yep, I did it–read it in one sitting! I couldn’t put it down once I started.
  7. PS I Love You by Cecelia Ahern. Because we all have loved and lost. This book makes it ok to hurt, to grieve, but also to move on. And it can be read in one sitting.
  8. The Green Mile by Stephen King. I actually purchased the episodic books all at once and read them in one sitting. I have also, since, purchased the full novel. And somehow I can ALWAYS read the series of smaller books more quickly than I can the larger novel. Not sure why, since it is the exact same story.
  9. Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell. Gladwell’s books are almost all easily readable in a day. I chose this one because I think it is the one I learned the most from. Very intriguing read.
  10. Any of the Harry Potter novels. I read each of them in one day, because I could not put them down until I had completed them!

Thanks for reading my list.

Please leave a comment and make sure to check out The Broke and Bookish, where this weekly meme is hosted!

13 responses

  1. I didn’t love The Lover’s Dictionary, but The Notebook & The Hunger Games rocked🙂

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!🙂

  2. The Hunger Games was the only book I didn’t read in a day in that series. I think it is because I started it in the evening and had to put it down for bed. The other 2 books I read each in a day.

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/04/top-10-tuesdays-15.html

    1. Thanks for dropping by and reading!🙂

  3. Isn’t it funny how tearjerker books are so tough to put down? They just grab you by the heartstrings and don’t let go!

  4. Anything Stephen King is great and The Hunger Games is totally a given! Loved that trilogy!! Have you seen the movie yet??

    Great list this week!

    Our Top Ten!

    -Em

    1. Em-

      I LOVE Stephen King. He is one of the reasons I am such a voracious reader. I stalked our public library to be the first to get any new release of his..lol

      I have NOT read Catching Fire or Mockingjay, yet. But I will! I saw the movie and loved it!

      TeacherQ

  5. The Little Prince made my list too🙂 And I love Water for Elephants, but I don’t see how you can read it in a day — I mean, a normal, working day. Unless it’s read-a-thon day, that is…

    1. lol-
      Most of my read in a day books are a read-a-thon day. There are just some days, especially when I am feeling just a bit under the weather, that I can lay in bed for hours just reading a book.🙂

      Thanks for visiting.

  6. Love your list! Nicholas Sparks has been popping up quite a bit, and rightly so. He’s a terrific writer. The Green Mile is the only Stephen King I’ve ever read, and I loved it. Here’s my Top Ten. Would love for you to stop by.

  7. I loved Water for Elephants therefore I will be looking up these books as it seems we have similar taste in novels! Have you seen the film of the Hunger Games? Is the novel better in your opinion?

    1. I did see the film. The novel is definitely better! As with any book-turned-into-movie, there were just some things that did not make the transition well to the screen. I definitely recommend the book, even if you have seen the movie.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      1. Oh okay, that’s good to know🙂 I just wanted an excuse to buy them! No problem, I really enjoyed your piece🙂

If you comment, I shall respond!

