Sunday Salon

Weather today…Beautiful. As I sit here on my porch, it is one of those days you could lounge under a tree with a tall ice-cold glass of lemonade and just drift away in the day.

In my classes this week: In my 1920s & 30s class we began outOf Mice and Men unit-had a great discussion about ideas like “is responsibility for others a burden?”

In my War Lit class we began reading Farewell to Manzanar. The kids are intrigued and discussing!

In both classes I introduced my ideas and plans for National Poetry Month! I have some very excited kids.🙂

I’m reading: Too much! LOL

  • Ruby Holler by Sharon Creech – one of my students LOVES all things Creech and knew I hadn’t read this one, so she let me borrow it. It will be a quick read!
  • Lawyers in Hell edited by Janet Morris. This one is slow going.
  • Nevermore by William Hjortsberg

I’m listening to:  I don’t listen to audio books, usually. When I do, it’s always a book I have read before. I have to see the words myself to make complete sense of a text the first time. So, instead of audiobooks, I will share my iPod playlist for the week🙂 !

Poems from The Spoken Word Revolution-my favorite is Cin Salach’s melodic “Music Swims Back to Me”

Hope & Keepin’ It Real by Shaggy

One Step Closer by Bon Jovi

Never Here Alone & Good Morning After All & Needs by Collective Soul

Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) by Kelly Clarkson

I Will Survive by The Puppini Sisters (my favorite version of this song!)

Book finished this week: I finished The Lover’s Dictionary by David Leviathan. I have wanted to read this one for so long. I love books that are written in unique formats and was instantly intrigued by this book’s format-a love story told through a series of dictionary entries. LOVED IT–look for a review coming soon. Read it in one afternoon.

Abandoned book: I have not let any books go this week🙂
 
Scripture lesson in church: I missed church this morning, so I pulled out my Bible and re-read John 16:13 : “But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.” (NIV)

I’m praying for: I had a student whose mother was in a pretty bad accident this week. It is just him and mom at home, so he is being forced to deal with reality in a new way. Thankfully he is well adjusted and responsible enough to handle this.

Around the house: A bit of cleaning to do. Must get the office fully unpacked and situated.

From the kitchen: An amazing fresh fruit salad and some BBQ chicken.

Fun event of the week: English Department BBQ Saturday evening!

A favorite quote this week: “In these bodies we will live, In these bodies we will die. Where you invest your love, You invest your life.” Awake My Soul Mumford & Sons

If you comment, I shall respond!

