Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Play Hooky With! (2)

Because spring has sprung, this seems such a fitting Top Ten! Not that I am one to play hooky often, but we all need those mental health days. Especially us teachers😉 ! Thanks to The Broke and the Bookish for such a great topic. Here are my Top Ten Books I would play hooky with, if given the chance…LOL

Note-All book links are to the associated GoodReads book page.

1. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry. I remember seeing the miniseries when it came out on TV so long ago and I love westerns. At one point I worked at a used bookstore for a few months in college and picked up an old, well worn copy of the book. Took it home and it sat on my bookshelf for YEARS. In college, I was double majoring, had two kids, a house, and too much real work to do before reading could happen. When I moved to Arizona, I rediscovered the book when unpacking. One hot summer day I took it to the pool with me thinking, “Hey, if I don’t get it read, I can just lug it back home.” I began it that afternoon and devoured it. I have read it every year (during spring or early summer)!

2. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein. I tried reading the first Lord of the Rings story. It was a no go. It’s something about the way Tolkein writes and the new worlds, languages, and people I had to try to follow. It just didn’t work. But, last night MiniQ brought home The Hobbit and was excitedly telling me about the first few chapters . I opened the book and read the first couple of pages and thought, “huh, maybe I can read this!”

3. The Shack by William P Young. This one has been recommended to me by so many people. And, I had a student do an amazing book project over it last semester. I need to give it a read.

4. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Another one that has been recommended by several. Must read. Soon.

5. Superfreakonomics by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dunbar. I was a HUGE fan of the first book they put out together. I am NOT an economics major, minor, or even dabbler by any stretch of the imagination. But, they way these fellas have explained cause and effects in regards to economics is nothing if not thought provoking.

6. Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith. I started this one over a year ago. I haven’t gotten to finish it. I think I started it right before school started, which means I had no time with the new move, new job, and other new things filling life. However, the movie is coming out this summer and I MUST see it! So, of course, my rule–Read the book, see the movie–must be followed.

7. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I did play hooky to read this the first time😉. Actually, I had a legitimate reason for being absent. And, I know it can be read in a day. It’s one of my guilty pleasure reads.

8. Any book of poetry with Dickinson, Poe, Whitman, Angelou, Hughes, and more!

9. The Odyssey by Homer. One of my favorite classics to re-read. I can’t put it down!

10. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll. This is my story. I read this as a young girl and remember thinking–she’s just like me. She wonders. She thinks. She asks. She finds. She seeks. She’s me. Still.

So, there you have it. 10 books I would love to take a day off to simply sit underneath a weeping willow tree, with an ice cold glass of lemonade, my book, and me.

5 responses

  1. I hope you enjoy The Hobbit! Tolkien is my favorite author (and we’re actually having a Tolkien event on our blog right now!) The Hobbit does have a much different writing style than The Lord of the Rings. I think Roverandom is also easier to follow, if you do end up liking The Hobbit.

    1. Thanks for the encouragement🙂 I will definitely let you all know.

  2. What a fantastic list! Would love for you to stop by to check out my Top Ten.

  3. Huge Tolkien fan here. I need to get around to re-reading The Hobbit before the new film comes out later this year.

    Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter was actually a lot better than I expected. I plan on seeing the movie, but I don’t know if I want to go to theaters or just wait until it is released on DVD.

  4. GREAT list! I’ve read a number of those (or have them in my TBR queue).

If you comment, I shall respond!

