It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (1)

This is my first It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? post!🙂

I finished quite a few books over Spring Break and will update my Spring Break post accordingly. Yay me!

For this week, I have a few required readings, for my classes and a few I am trying to get read to post reviews at NetGalley. I have only recently begun requesting books from NetGalley as ARCs and am looking forward to the process. But, I am also feeling a bit of the deadline crunch, as most of the books I requested have a time limit they are available. Oh well, I will learn what works and what doesn’t.

So, my required reading:

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. We will read at least chapter 1 this week in my 1920s & 30s class.

 

Farewell to Manzanar by Jeanne Houston. We will read at least the Forward, Chronology, Terms, and Chapter 1 in my War Literature class.

 

 

 

And my free time reading😉 :

My goal with Lawyers in Hell edited by Janet Morris is to read one story at least every 2-3 days. So far, I have read 3 of the stories and each one gets better.

 

 

 

 

ARCs to be read:

Nevermore by William Hjortsberg. Even though this was published in 1994, it is an interesting read. It incorporates Houdini, Poe, and Sherlock Holmes all in one story🙂 !

 

 

 

 

Unspoken, by Sarah Rees Breman. Due to be released in September 2012. I just started this one during independent reading time in class today. Intrigued by the female protagonist. It’s set in London and promises an atypical teenage love story involving magic and journalism. I am hooked already!

 

 

5 responses

  1. Nevermore sounds awesome!! Great reads you got here🙂

    xo, La Toya (La Toya, Literally.)

  2. I remember reading Farewell to Manazar years ago. I hope you find it a great read!

  3. Looks like a great reading week!

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out | Reply

    Sorry I am a bit late stopping by this week, I’ve been swamped – but welcome to the hop! I hope you have been enjoying your books!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    1. ShelleyRae-

      Now that I am back at school, my reading has once again slowed to a trickle😦, but it is going. Thanks for stopping by!

If you comment, I shall respond!

