Top Ten Tuesday (1): Spring TBR List

One of the reasons I started this blog is because I stumbled across The Broke and the Bookish’s blog and loved their Top 10 Tuesday posts. So, here is my first attempt at the Top 10 Tuesday–this week’s is our Spring To Be Read list!

I have already started my Top Ten with a list of books I planned to read over my Spring Break, which is this week🙂 . So, some of my choices below are already on that list. Not surprisingly, I have a few more to add to my Spring list. These are in no particular order.

  1. Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. This MUST be read by this Thursday, so I may take MiniQ to the midnight showing. I just picked it up today @ B&N.
  2. Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck. This is a must read, because my 1920s & 30s students will be reading this for the remainder of the semester. I remember reading it in high school, but it’s time for a refresher!
  3. Lonely: A Memoir, by Emily White. This one has been on my shelf to read for awhile. While my original intent and thought behind the purchase was to look at my introverted self through the lens of another, I think it’s not necessarily along the vein of introversion per se. We shall see.
  4. Lawyers in Hell, edited by Janet Morris. I am a fairly recent convert to science fiction/fantasy reading due to a good friend’s recommendation. He lent me a few out of printin Hell books and I was hooked. If you have no idea what these books are about look for a future review and check them out. Fun reads. If you like mythology, history, literature and wonder how Hell functions for greats such as James Dean, Machiavelli, Alexander the Great and more, it is well worth the read.
  5. Black Magic Sanction, by Kim Harrison. Not a fan at all of the Charlane Harris vampire books, I stumbled across Kim Harrison because of another friend’s recommendation. And I fell in love! This one, however, has been on my Nook for too many months and I must finish it. I actually had to start it over and am currently reading it during Silent Reading time in the classroom.
  6. Myth Adventures, by Robert Asprin. Another recommendation from the recommender of the in Hell series. Funny read.
  7. Last Call: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition, Daniel Okrent. I started this for my 1920s & 30s class and really can’t wait to finish it. It just takes time for me to read non-fiction because I like to read a bit, then let it soak in. I hate rushing through non-fiction because I always miss something!
  8. Clockwork Prince, by Cassandra Clare. MiniQ just bought this one today. She has been waiting for weeks, ever since finishing Clockwork Angel. I just finished CA and will post a review soon.
  9. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll. One of my all time favorites, I try to re-read every year.
  10. Farewell to Manzanar, by Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston and James D. Houston. Another one I must read because my War Lit class will be reading it this spring. Not looking forward to this one. I am bummed out by the War literature.

That’s 10 that come to mind first. Like I said, most are related to school somehow and I know I will add more to my pile as the spring goes on. What are you reading this spring?

TeacherQ

4 responses

  1. Hope you get to finish Hunger Games in time🙂 I’m going to the movies on Friday, can’t wait!
    The Clockwork Angel series I’ve enjoyed more than TMI!
    Lovely TTT, if you’d like to have a look, here’s mine: http://krweinert.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/top-ten-tuesday-005.html

    1. I have only just started HG and am liking it🙂 . I have not read TMI, but MiniQ suggests I should. However, after some of her descriptions I don’t think I will like it as much. I love historical fiction and, for me, that’s part of the draw for me. Thanks for the comment!

  2. I much prefered The HUnger Games series to The Mortal Instrument series – hope you’re loving it … and that you got the other 2 books. I couldn’t even pause to eat before I picked up book 2!

    1. Tanya-

      *Sigh* My book budget did not allow me to buy the whole series and now, after just finishing Hunger Games, I am anxiously counting down to when I can get the next two. Though, I will be a bit disappointed if the next two revolve mainly around a love triangle and not a fight against the Capitol.

If you comment, I shall respond!

