Spring Break TBR

Spring Break for TeacherQ and MiniQ begins tomorrow!

Officially, MiniQ began her SB today, but she is babysitting and didn’t take a book to read.

We will have a lot of free time and TeacherQ plans on spending a big chunk of it reading! Here are our lists:

TeacherQ

School Reading (these are the books my students will be reading for the remainder of the semester)
  • Farewell to Manzanar, Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston and James D. Houston
  • Of Mice and Men, John Steinbeck
For Fun Reading (because I can)
  • Matched, Ally Condie
  • The Clockwork Angel, Cassandra Clare
To Finish Reading (because they have been started for so long!)
  • Lawyers in Hell, Janet Morris and Chris Morris (Eds.)
  • Myth Adventures, Robert Asprin
  • Black Magic Sanction, Kim Harrison
Nonfiction Reading (because I am a geek🙂 )
  • Lonely: Learning to Live with Solitude, Emily White **Gave up on this one…can’t read it right now😦
  • Last Call: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition, Daniel Okrent

3 responses

  1. I have yet to read Cassandra Clare or Of Mice and Men. Although very different, there are definitely crazes of these books. I need to get on. Good luck with your TBR pile!

    1. Cassie-

      Thanks for the comment. I tend to avoid the “latest and greatest” reads, especially in YA lit. Not sure why, because eventually I read it and I usually love it. There’s just something about going with the trend that bothers me inside. Not sure why. It is irrational, but nonetheless, I am always the late comer to the party. Which is why I have not yet read The Hunger Games. It has been on my radar for awhile and it will be read by this weekend, because MiniQ and I have plans to see the movie this weekend. I make her read everything before she sees the film versions, so I feel I must model this behavior for her, as well.

      I am in the midst of reading Cassandra Clare and like it well enough. It’s a good story. Of Mice and Men is one of my favorite classics. I am assigning it to my junior/senior 1920s & 1930s Lit class and figure i should brush up on George and Lenny before having my students experience them for the first time.

      TeacherQ

  2. […] have already started my Top Ten with a list of books I planned to read over my Spring Break, which is this week . So, some of my choices below are […]

If you comment, I shall respond!

